commonwealth compe2

History of the Moot Court Competition
The Commonwealth moot Court Competition turns 14 this year. It is the brainchild and initiative of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) and the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA) who are the sponsors as well. It is organized under the auspices of the Commonwealth Secretariat and performed in the English language..
The Competition is an ‘invite only moot’ thus limited only to representatives from regions of the Commonwealth only. East Africa falls under the aforementioned Commonwealth Regions.


The Moot’s area of law is always Commonwealth law and International law however with no definite court forum. The African Human Rights Moot Court Competition for instance has a definite court forum which is the African Court on Human and People’s Rights.
This year’s moot problem is entirely fixed on International Criminal Justice with the material selected court forum being the International Criminal Court (ICC) and rightly so.
Further, the moot has a significant feature- it highly involves the Common Wealth Lawyers Association. All judges of the Competition are prominent members of the bench drawn from the Commonwealth counties’ Judiciary. A stellar record no other moot Competition boasts of.


Aims/Objectives as pertains the 14th Competition thus are:-
The Competition endevour to promote students’ understanding and knowledge of International law and the procedure of the ICC and other International tribunals such as International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia, International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, the Special Courts for Sierra Leone and the various supporting material Charters and Statute establishing them.
The Competition also seeks to strengthen the scope and features of International Criminal Justice by introducing participants to International Criminal Law, its case law and various institutions. Moreover as with many other moots, it also promotes regional cohesion, networking and exposure among the participating parties.

Preliminary Rules of Procedure
The Commonwealth moot competition consists of two separate and consecutive phases. The first is the written phase which involves submission of written memorials. This is followed up by the oral phase- constituted by hearings. Each phase is marked independently and selection to proceed to orals is premised on and entirely dependent on scoring highly/favorably in the written phase. The moot invites participants who are post and under-graduate students who at the time of opening of registration of the competition enrolled on a full-time basis at a recognized University. This is indeed a benevolent moot competition worth the effort.
The 14th Commonwealth moot Court Competition (Orals phase) is scheduled to be held in London, United Kingdom between the 25th-27th June 2014.

Last Updated on Friday, 16 May 2014 12:18

Kenyatta University School of Law...ISO 9001:2008 Certified

Copyright © 2013 Kenyatta University. All Rights Reserved